Single: Aberdeen Boy

30 years ago today, or thereabouts, Kurt Cobain sat in his home in Washington and decided to end his life. We didn’t find out for a few days but for us GenXers who loved Nirvana it was gutting and I still feel it even now.

I’ve never been a stereotypical man and Kurt was one of the few men in the limelight that was happy to shed all the macho crap and that resonated with me hugely.

I’ve performed many songs of his, in bands and without, before and after his death, and his music maybe means more to me than any other artist.

It’s very odd looking back now though, because 27 seemed so old and so adult back when I was 17 and now it doesn’t seem much more than a kid.

Anyway, I wrote a song and it’s out today on all the usual platforms. It’s called “Aberdeen Boy”, named after the town where he was born.

RIP Kurt 💔

Listen on: Spotify, Apple Music or follow links in the menu and search for “Chris Albery-Jones”.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.